Mrs. Peacock killed Mr. Body in the Library with the Candlestick

Clue is by far my favorite game. I am not very good at it but I  did get some inspiration for my blog from playing it. Instead of Mrs. Peacock in the Library with the Candlestick it will be, The Cuckoo’s Calling in Saxbys with the comfy chairs. (What I am getting at is, I will be suggesting coffee shops and books to read in those coffee shops.) Miss Scarlet, your turn to roll.

Clue V2

Many have heard about J.K. Rowling’s new book, The Cuckoo’s Calling. I am an avid Harry Potter fan and only a tiny fan of The Casual Vacancy. I think having read The Casual Vacancy and being so surprised by the different (even though I had read J.K.’s quote many times that it was nothing like HP) book, made me more open to The Cuckoo’s Calling. Many publishers considered the novel mediocre but I think it was quite whimsical and a light good read. That’s why I suggest reading it in Saxbys Coffee located within the Georgia State University Library.

Libraries are great because they are relatively quiet, everyone is doing a similar activity to you (reading or studying) and you are surrounded by books. I mean, who wouldn’t love that? Then add a pretty fantastic coffee shop, I am surprised I can ever leave.

There’s always ample seating of all sorts of varieties. My favorite reading spot is on the 4th floor, it is pretty quite there, near the big glass windows. They have these comfy blue chairs and you can even prop your feet up (though it might be frowned upon by faculty).

I have made my suggestions and here is my accusation (review):

Noise level: Saxbys is a more conversation space while the rest of library has many quieter spots

Seating: GREAT variety. Big desks, little desks, study chairs, comfy chairs, study rooms, etc.

Food: Saxbys had food for any sort of craving. Panini’s, frozen yogurt, breakfast sandwiches, pastries. 

Location: Downtown (within Georgia State)

Yelp Rating: 3 Stars

 

8 Comments

Filed under Books, Coffee, Other

8 responses to “Mrs. Peacock killed Mr. Body in the Library with the Candlestick

  1. I love Cluedo! I should pull it out and play it again.

  2. Very cute title!! And I love Saxby’s (as long as it’s not rush hour!). Good to hear Rowling’s new book is a fun read–I’ll certainly be picking it up!

  3. I absolutely agree with this post! I love love love the 4th floor of the library. I tend to go there on my break in between classes and pick the perfect spot just to study and have some me-time. I also enjoy Saxby’s, as it helps my cravings for coffee continuously. Their refreshments are nice and filling. Great blog post!

  4. dianarad

    I have been to the fourth floor of the library, and I agree with you. Not only is it a great quiet place to read, but it also has those comfortable chairs and a great view. I don’t think I could really connect with a book in a noisy atmosphere, like Saxby’s. But I do think coffee shops are a great place to study. In your other post you mentioned studying in a coffee shop, and the sound and noise at coffee shops have never distracted me. That has a lot to do with me being raised in a “Slavic” environment. I have a big family, and I’ve gotten used to doing homework with a lot of noise in the house, but I would still much rather prefer studying at Starbucks than my own home.
    On the other hand, I can get into a book at home no matter what the noise, but if I’m at a coffee shop, I’d be more distracted. I guess that’s why it’s great to have a coffee shop inside a library.

  5. alysiawatson

    I can’t wait to read The Cuckoo’s Calling! Thanks for the review. I love the idea of books, with places to read them. That’s so awesome! Now, if only they served coffee in an IV drip!

  6. For someone that doesn’t drink coffee, I spend a lot of time in Saxby’s. It’s just a chill spot in the middle of the 1st floor of the library, which can be a little crazy. I am looking forward to reading The Cuckoo’s Calling (If i ever had a second away from reading my textbooks) so it’s good to hear about the book! 🙂

  7. I really like the vibe of this blog. It relates to the things I love the most….books and coffee!

  8. Pingback: And the featured blog post winner is . . . | Electronic Writing & Publishing

Leave a Reply

